It’s Over

For now.  Three days of snow plus Ice.
Thursday: 6 inches
Friday: 8 inches
Saturday: 7 inches
Ice: 1/2 inch
All in all TOO MUCH SNOW.  It was the Storm of ’08 all over again. But nothing today, thankfully.

image

image

image

It has started to melt though it will be a few says before I will venture out driving.  I did not go to Mass this morning.  I made that call last night.  I would not have gotten out of my parking spot let alone the parking lot safely.  And I wasn’t driving on the roads. So for safety reasons I decided to stay home.  I’ve driven in this before plus my car accident just tells me to stay home. 

I know there are people out there that think there is no good reason to stay home from work or school or Mass, not even dangerous weather or driving conditions.  In a way, I used to be one of them.  Largely due to the belief that if I didn’t go then I was a failure and that I was going to lose my job or whatnot.  Or just plain stupidity. 

We have the ability to not do things.  We have luxuries that allow us not to do things, to not take dangerous risks and chances.  One is education and knowledge.  We know driving on I’ve can cause accidents.  We know about bad weather before it will happen.  We can prepare for emergencies proactively instead of reactively. We are not our ancestors.  And we don’t need to prove how tough or brave or heroic we are by freely putting ourselves in dangerous situations.

We have brains and common sense.  We just need to use them.  It’s okay to miss Mass due to weather.  It doesn’t make us any less Catholic for thinking of our safety and the safety of others.  It’s actually a good thing to think of safety.  It’s a way of loving our neighbor. Being safe is good.  Being stupid is not.

image

image

image

image

Snow with a later of ice on top.  Pretty by dangerous

Categories

Type this later, if I remember.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 218 other followers

Goodreads


